Search Site
More Headlines
Bahraini, Algerian win in Sheikh Zayed Book Award
2009-02-20 08:15:20

Najjar wins prize for best contribution to countryís development, young author prize granted to Waglesi.

The Nation Press -

ABU DHABI-ThenationPress- The Prize for best contribution to the development of the country has been awarded to Dr. Baqer Salman Al Najjar of Bahrain for his book "the Strenuous Democracy in the Arabian Gulf".
The award’s council said that the work “Is based on a rigorous research and a comprehensive assessment that reveals a deep insight to the democratic societies in the Gulf region. The author also analyses archaic relations within states and explains the rationale of having new emerging groups at the expense of a long-standing independent commercial groups.”

Dr. Baqer Al Najjar is a Professor of Sociology at the University of Bahrain since 1984, he is one of the most prominent Arab authors in Sociology; some of his books are; Voluntary social work in the Arabian Gulf, 1988, labor productivity in the industrial sector in Bahrain, 1993, Sociology of the Arab community in the Gulf, women and the Modernization 2000, and religious movements in the Arabian Gulf, 2007.
On another hand, the young author prize was granted to Dr. Yousef Waglesi, from Algeria for his book "The intricacy of terminology in the new Arab discourse."

The book deserved the prize because "It’s an addition to the field of Arabic literary discourse; it provides clarification to the critical use of terminology and its impact between cultures. The author presents theories and applications and examines the diversity of terminology in the Arabic language” said Rashed Al Oraimi, Secretary General of the Sheikh Zayed Book Award.
Dr. Yousef Waglesi holds a Ph.D. from the University of Oran with a collective of numerous books and published articles namely; literary criticism and capillaries 2005 and (2006), Poetic and thematic analysis (2007) letter of poetic literary criticism (2007).

Contribution to the Development of the Country consists of works in the fields of economics, sociology, management, politics, law and theology that contribute to the country’s advancement whereas the Young Author prize recognizes scientific, literary or cultural works produced by authors younger than 40 years.
This year the award committee reviewed 621 works from 26 countries to select the nine winners, who will be announced from now until the beginning of March. Each winner receives Dh750,000, with the exception of the Cultural Personality of the Year, who receives Dh1 million. The Award was established in the memory of Sheikh Zayed, the founding President of the UAE, and reward innovation in knowledge, arts and humanities.

Source : Thenation press servecis
No Comments
Add Your Comment
Title: You have to write the title
Name: You have to write your name
Your Comment:
You have to write your comment

Verification Number
verification image, type it in the box
Type Verification Number


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Home  .   Politics  .   Businss  .   Trends  .   Features  .   lifestyle  .  
Discover Islam | Advertisements | Contact Us | About Us |
All Rights Reserved © The Nation Press